Compared in 2026
Looking for a Photomath alternative?
Photomath is a fast, free way to see how a problem is solved. If you’re looking for a Photomath alternative, it’s usually for something else: more practice, help that doesn’t give the answer away, or a way for parents to follow progress. Here are the real options, checked on October 24, 2026.

What Photomath does well
Photomath is published by Google. You scan a math problem, handwritten, printed or on a screen, word problems included, and the app shows the solution broken into steps, sometimes with several methods. A smart calculator also lets you type a problem.
- Free Basic plan: step-by-step explanations.
- Photomath Plus, $9.99 a month or $69.99 a year on photomath.com: custom visual aids and extra “how” and “why” tips. The App Store listing also mentions Animated Tutorials and Textbook Solutions.
- Levels: elementary math through college, from arithmetic to calculus.
- Rated 4.8 out of 5 on the US App Store, with 733K ratings (read on October 24, 2026).
To check a result or see a method, it’s fast and well liked. The reasons to look elsewhere are about what happens before and after the solution.
Why look for an alternative?
Three needs come up again and again. Pick the app that answers yours.
Understanding, not copying
When the full solution appears right away, it’s tempting to copy it. To learn, the order matters: try first, get a hint, then check.
Practice that sticks
Following one solved problem doesn’t mean you can solve the next one. Fresh exercises on the same skill are what build confidence for the test.
Progress parents can see
We found no parent dashboard mentioned on Photomath’s site or App Store listing. If you want to see time spent and topics practiced, choose an app that offers it.
Photomath and its alternatives
Published features and prices, read on October 24, 2026.
Swipe the table to see every app
| Mathflow | Photomath | Symbolab | Mathway | Khan Academy | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | Math learning app with an AI tutor | Photo problem solver | AI math solver and calculators | Math problem solver | Free courses and practice |
| Photo of a problem | Yes: Alphi reads a photo of an exercise | Yes, even handwritten word problems | Yes, word problems included | Yes | Not stated |
| Explanations | Step by step, with hints | Basic steps free; more with Plus | Basic steps free; advanced steps with a subscription | Step-by-step answers | Instant feedback and hints in practice, videos |
| Practice path | Series in 3 levels for each chapter, Chapter Challenges | Not stated | Practice and worksheets | Not stated | Courses by grade, from Kindergarten to college |
| Parent tracking | Parent mode: your child’s week, alerts | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Free family account |
| Grades | 6th grade to Calculus | Elementary through college | Pre-algebra to calculus and beyond | Algebra, graphing, calculus and more | Kindergarten to college |
| Free option | Yes, to start (energy) | Yes, Basic plan | Yes, with basic steps | Free download | Yes, Khan Academy is free |
| Monthly price | Premium: $24.99 | Plus: $9.99 | From $7.99 (App Store) | “Steps” from $9.99 (App Store) | Free (Khanmigo: $4, US only) |
| Annual price | $99.99, 7-day free trial | Plus: $69.99 | From $34.99 (App Store) | From $39.99 (App Store) | Free (Khanmigo: $44, US only) |
Where these facts come from (read October 24, 2026)
Official websites, help centers and US App Store listings.
- Photomath · features, grades, Basic and Plus prices: photomath.com
- Photomath · publisher (Google), Plus features, rating and number of ratings: apps.apple.com/us/app/id919087726
- Mathflow · prices (US App Store): apps.apple.com/us/app/id6477834291
- Symbolab · photo and typed problems, 500+ calculators, free basic steps, subscription prices: apps.apple.com/us/app/id876942533
- Symbolab · AI Chat, Practice, Worksheets: symbolab.com
- Mathway · publisher (Chegg), features, “Steps” subscription prices, rating: apps.apple.com/us/app/id467329677
- Khan Academy · free courses, Kindergarten to college: khanacademy.org/math
- Khanmigo · price, US residents only, approach without answers: khanmigo.ai/parents
- Microsoft · Math Assistant in OneNote, Math Progress in Teams: math.microsoft.com
- OpenAI · study mode in ChatGPT, availability and limits: help.openai.com/en/articles/11780217-using-study-mode-in-chatgpt
- OpenAI · minimum age and accuracy of output: openai.com/policies/terms-of-use
The alternatives, one by one
What each one does well, and what to know before you switch.
Mathflow
Learn math by doing, with an AI tutor
Strengths
- Alphi reads a photo of an exercise, explains step by step with hints, then suggests the right series with its 3 levels.
- Interactive series: sliders, draggable points, balance scales. No multiple choice in the series.
- Chapter Challenges: 8 questions, 3 lifelines, and a perfect score earns the chapter gem.
- Parent mode with your child’s week and alerts; chats with Alphi stay private.
Good to know
- Math only, from 6th grade to Calculus.
- Free to start with energy; Premium removes the limit.
Free to start · Premium $24.99 a month or $99.99 a year
Symbolab
AI math solver and calculator suite, from Learneo
Strengths
- Type or snap a problem, word problems included, for step-by-step solutions.
- Over 500 calculators, from fractions to integrals and Laplace transforms, according to Symbolab.
- Free solutions with basic steps; a subscription unlocks more advanced steps and explanations.
- Also offers practice, worksheets and a graphing calculator.
Good to know
- Parent tracking: not stated.
- Subscriptions on the US App Store range from $7.99 to $9.99 a month.
Free with basic steps · subscription from $7.99 a month (App Store)
Mathway
Problem solver from Chegg
Strengths
- Snap a photo or type a problem in algebra, graphing, calculus and more.
- Step-by-step answers.
- Rated 4.9 out of 5 on the US App Store, with 425K ratings (read on October 24, 2026).
Good to know
- The paid subscription listed on the App Store is called “Steps”.
- Practice path and parent tracking: not stated.
Free download · “Steps” from $9.99 a month (App Store)
Khan Academy
Free courses and practice from a nonprofit
Strengths
- Free, from Kindergarten math to AP/College Calculus.
- Practice with instant feedback and hints, plus videos.
- Khanmigo, its AI tutor, doesn’t give answers: it helps kids think through problems.
- Free family accounts.
Good to know
- Khanmigo costs $4 a month or $44 a year and is available to US residents only.
- Photo scanning: not stated.
Free · Khanmigo $4 a month
How to use a solver and still learn
Whatever app you choose, the same routine works. It turns a solver into a tutor instead of a shortcut.
- Try the problem for a few minutes on paper, even if you get stuck halfway.
- Ask for one hint, not the whole solution. Then try again.
- Check your answer with the app and find the exact step where yours went a different way.
- Do one similar problem without help. If you can, you’ve learned it; if not yet, practice that skill again.
That last step is where an app built for practice helps most. In Mathflow, Alphi explains with hints, then suggests the series that trains the same skill. See how the method works, what students and parents say and pricing, or compare more apps in our best math apps guide.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best alternative to Photomath?
It depends on what you need. For another solver with step-by-step solutions, Symbolab and Mathway are the closest. For free courses and practice, Khan Academy. To understand math by doing, with an AI tutor that gives hints and a parent view, Mathflow is built for that, from 6th grade to Calculus.
Is Photomath still free?
Yes. On October 24, 2026, Photomath’s Basic plan was free, with step-by-step explanations. Photomath Plus costs $9.99 a month or $69.99 a year on photomath.com.
Is ChatGPT better than Photomath?
They do different things. Photomath is built for math: it scans a problem and shows the steps. ChatGPT is a general assistant; OpenAI offers a study mode that asks questions and guides you step by step instead of only giving a final answer, and you can upload a photo of a math problem. OpenAI says study mode can make mistakes and asks you to double-check important information, especially for homework and exams. Its terms require users to be at least 13, with a parent’s permission under 18. With any tool, check the answer and make sure you can redo the problem on your own.
What happened to Microsoft Math Solver?
Microsoft’s math page, math.microsoft.com, no longer presents Math Solver. It now points to Math Assistant in OneNote, available in OneNote for Microsoft 365 Education, and to Math Progress for teachers in Teams.
Is Symbolab free?
Symbolab gives free solutions with basic steps. A subscription unlocks more advanced steps and explanations; on the US App Store, it starts at $7.99 a month.
Is using a math solver cheating?
Checking your work isn’t cheating, but copying a solution you don’t understand won’t help on the test. For graded work, follow your school’s rules on apps and AI.
