2026 comparison
The best math apps for 2026, compared
What’s the best math app? It depends on the job: checking an answer, free practice, skill drills across subjects, or truly understanding math by working with it. We compared five popular apps on criteria you can check yourself, with prices read on October 24, 2026.

Six things to check first
Before comparing prices, ask these six questions. They keep you from paying for an app that doesn’t fit what your child actually needs.
Fits what’s taught in class
Does the app follow your child’s course, from middle school math to Algebra I, Geometry and beyond? Practice that matches class lands when it matters.
Doing, not just watching
Videos help, but students remember what they do. Look for practice with feedback: exercises, challenges, things to move and test.
Help when stuck
What happens at 9 p.m. on a hard problem? Some apps show the full solution, some give hints, some connect your child to a tutor.
Parent visibility
Can you see time spent, topics practiced and where your child struggles? A clear view helps you encourage at the right moment, without hovering.
The real price
Compare the monthly price, the annual price and what stays free. Watch for add-ons per subject or per extra child.
Grade range
An app that covers several grades can follow your child for years and makes it easy to review a topic from last year.
The comparison table
Published prices and features announced by each company, read on October 24, 2026.
Swipe the table to see every app
| Mathflow | Khan Academy | Photomath | IXL | Brilliant | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Subjects | Math only | Math, science, computing and more | Math only | Math, language arts, science, social studies, Spanish | Math, programming, data, science |
| Grades | 6th grade to Calculus | Kindergarten to AP/College Calculus and beyond | Elementary through college | Math: Pre-K to Calculus | Math courses from grades 4–7 up to advanced math |
| Content | Interactive series (sliders, draggable points, balance scales), Chapter Challenges, mini-games | Videos and practice with instant feedback | Problem solver: scan a problem, get a step-by-step solution | Adaptive practice, diagnostic, video tutorials, games | Interactive courses (40+ courses) |
| AI or photo help | Alphi, AI tutor: reads a photo of an exercise, explains step by step with hints, 24/7 | Khanmigo AI tutor, paid, for US residents | Scan any problem, even handwritten word problems | Not stated | “Tutoring by Koji” listed in Premium |
| Parent tracking | Parent mode: time spent, series, stars, streak; alerts | Free family account; Khanmigo parents can view chat history | Not stated | Progress tracking tools | Not stated |
| Free option | Yes, to start (energy) | Yes, Khan Academy is free | Yes, Basic: step-by-step explanations | Not stated; 30-day satisfaction guarantee | Free plan; Premium unlocks every course |
| Monthly price | $24.99 | Free (Khanmigo: $4) | Plus: $9.99 | From $9.95 (one subject) | Not stated in US dollars |
| Annual price | $99.99, 7-day free trial | Free (Khanmigo: $44) | Plus: $69.99 | $79 (one subject) | Annual plan offered, US dollar price not stated |
| Several kids | Family: $149.99 a year, up to 5 kids | Khanmigo: up to 10 kids | Not stated | Extra child: $4 a month | Family plan: 6 seats |
Where these facts come from (read October 24, 2026)
Official websites and US App Store listings.
- Mathflow · prices (US App Store): apps.apple.com/us/app/id6477834291
- Khan Academy · free courses, Kindergarten to college, family accounts: khanacademy.org/math
- Khanmigo · $4 a month or $44 a year, up to 10 kids, parent tools, US residents only: khanmigo.ai/parents
- Photomath · features, grades, Basic and Plus prices: photomath.com
- Photomath · publisher (Google) and Plus features: apps.apple.com/us/app/id919087726
- IXL · packages, grade ranges, skills, diagnostic, progress tracking: ixl.com/membership/family/pricing
- IXL · monthly and yearly prices, extra child, guarantee: ixl.com/membership/family/subscribe
- Brilliant · Premium, Family plan with 6 seats, Tutoring by Koji: brilliant.org/premium
- Brilliant · course list and grade ranges: brilliant.org/courses
Each app, up close
What each app does well, and what to know before you pick.
Mathflow
A math-only app, from 6th grade to Calculus
Strengths
- Interactive series: sliders, draggable points, balance scales. No multiple choice in the series.
- Every skill in 3 levels, Explore, Explain, Solve, with “Who’s right?” debates at level 2.
- Alphi, the AI tutor, reads a photo of an exercise and explains step by step with hints, 24/7.
- Parent mode: your child’s week at a glance, plus alerts after 3 days without activity or repeated struggles.
Good to know
- Math only: you’ll need another app for other subjects.
- No human tutor: help comes from Alphi.
- Chats with Alphi stay private, even in parent mode.
Free to start · Premium $24.99 a month or $99.99 a year
Khan Academy
Free courses from a nonprofit
Strengths
- Free for learners and teachers, from Kindergarten math to AP/College Calculus and multivariable calculus.
- Videos and practice with instant feedback.
- Free family accounts to follow your child’s learning.
- Khanmigo, its AI tutor, helps kids think through problems instead of giving the answer.
Good to know
- Khanmigo costs $4 a month or $44 a year, for up to 10 kids, and is available to US residents only.
- Photo scanning: not stated.
Free · Khanmigo $4 a month
Photomath
A photo problem solver from Google
Strengths
- Fast: scan a problem, even handwritten or a word problem, and the solution appears.
- Step-by-step explanations are free in the Basic version, sometimes with several methods.
- Covers elementary math through calculus.
Good to know
- Photomath starts from the problem you scan: its site doesn’t present a grade-by-grade course path.
- Photomath Plus adds custom visual aids and extra “how” and “why” tips.
- Parent tracking: not stated.
Basic free · Plus $9.99 a month or $69.99 a year
IXL
Adaptive practice across subjects, Pre-K to 12
Strengths
- A large library: 20,000+ K–12 skills in math, English, science, social studies and Spanish, according to IXL.
- A Diagnostic that pinpoints your child’s level and the skills they’re ready to learn next.
- 1,300+ video tutorials and 120+ games, according to IXL.
- Progress tracking tools for parents, and a 30-day satisfaction guarantee.
Good to know
- Prices add up per subject and per extra child.
- AI or photo help: not stated.
From $9.95 a month or $79 a year (one subject)
Brilliant
Interactive courses in math, data and programming
Strengths
- 40+ interactive courses, from Math Foundations (grades 4–7) to Advanced Math.
- Also covers logic, programming, Python, data analysis and science.
- A Family plan with 6 seats.
- “Tutoring by Koji” is listed among the Premium features.
Good to know
- Courses are organized by topic, with suggested grade ranges.
- The US dollar price wasn’t displayed from our location: check brilliant.org/premium.
- Parent tracking: not stated.
Free plan · Premium: US dollar price not stated
Which app for which need?
These apps aren’t mutually exclusive. Many families pair two: one for daily practice, one to check work or review.
Check an answer right now
Photomath is built for that: scan, and the detailed solution appears. It’s most useful to check a result after trying first.
A zero-dollar budget
Khan Academy is free, from Kindergarten math to college courses, with videos and practice.
Several subjects in one place
IXL covers math, language arts, science, social studies and Spanish, with adaptive practice and a diagnostic.
Math beyond the school course
Brilliant’s interactive courses mix math, logic, programming and data, organized by topic.
Understanding math by doing
Mathflow practices each skill with interactive activities in 3 levels, and Alphi helps step by step when your child gets stuck.
Several kids
Mathflow Family covers up to 5 kids, Khanmigo up to 10 kids, and IXL charges per extra child.
What Mathflow offers
Made by a French company founded in 2022, built with Inria, for math only.
- App Store rating (France, 159 ratings)
- 4.8 / 5
- learners signed up
- 50,000+
- interactive series (US)
- 950+
In the US, Mathflow follows the course sequence from 6th grade to Calculus: Algebra I, Geometry, Algebra II, Pre-Calculus and Calculus, with 950+ series, 9,500+ missions and 90 Chapter Challenges. Each Chapter Challenge has 8 questions and 3 lifelines; a perfect score earns the chapter gem. Streaks, a daily challenge, duels and weekly quests keep the habit going, without pressure.
Learn more: the 3-level method, Alphi, the AI tutor, the parent space, pricing and reviews from students and parents. Looking for an app that explains rather than solves? Read our Photomath alternative guide.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best app for math?
There’s no single answer. To check an answer fast, Photomath is quick. On a zero budget, Khan Academy is free. For practice across several subjects, IXL covers Pre-K to 12. To understand math by working with it, with an AI tutor and parent tracking, Mathflow is built for that, from 6th grade to Calculus.
Is there a free math app that shows the steps?
Yes. Photomath’s free Basic version gives step-by-step explanations, and Khan Academy is free, with videos and practice. Mathflow is free to start; Premium unlocks unlimited energy.
What’s the best math app for high school?
Pick an app that follows your course: Algebra I, Geometry, Algebra II, Pre-Calculus or Calculus. Khan Academy and Mathflow are organized by these courses; Photomath helps with one specific problem, whatever the course.
Is Khan Academy really free?
Yes. Khan Academy is a nonprofit and is free for learners and teachers. Its AI tutor, Khanmigo, is paid ($4 a month or $44 a year) and available to US residents.
How much does a math app cost?
Read on October 24, 2026: Khan Academy is free; Photomath Plus is $9.99 a month or $69.99 a year; IXL starts at $9.95 a month for one subject; Mathflow Premium is $24.99 a month or $99.99 a year, and the Family plan is $149.99 a year for up to 5 kids.
Is Mathflow free?
Yes, you can start for free: the series and Alphi run on energy. Premium ($24.99 a month, or $99.99 a year with a 7-day free trial) unlocks unlimited energy, every series in any order, all mini-games, and removes ads.
